Death to all cookies!!!


I HAVE to say this; I cannot restrain myself! Why is it that EVERYWHERE you go on the net, your browser seems to accumulate not just one but several cookies for each site, most of which I fear are for the purposes of tracking and advertising, and not for any beneficial purpose as far as I am concerned. ARGGHHH!!! Death to all cookies!!! So I have set up my Firefox browser to set all cookies by default to session-only, except for those sites I have created “cookie” rules for to allow for cookie preservation. I’m still investigating on better ways to do it, but I may eventually add some explicit blocking rules as well.

When I first discovered cookies, I thought they were the neatest thing since sliced bread. Well, almost. Now if I could function on the net with cookies turned off, I would in a heartbeat. It seems to me to be a maxim now, that technology (no matter how high a moral purpose it originally has) is eventually abused, and usually for base purposes.

Incidentally, I warn all who read this (both of you who stumbled off the Internet Superhighway onto this digital dirt road in the middle of electronic nowhere) to be cautious about the flash vulnerability that allows sites to use a certain amount of allocated space on your computer to store information effectively like a cookie so I understand, but which won’t show up as a cookie for you to find. The only way I currently know how to do anything about it is to right-click Flash advertisements on each site, go into settings, and disable the storage feature. Or get rid of Flash (which I would hate to do, as it is another neat thing that I could compare to sliced bread).

Yes, we need to return to the days of DOS, dialup, and BBSes, or at the most, Lynx-access to the world wide web! That, or fix our current internet problems. I’m voting for plan B. Here’s hoping.

