A Linux For Every Day Of The Week


Well, I’m not there yet, but I’m getting closer. I’ve added the Ubuntu Blog to the blog roll because I am a fan of Ubuntu. Fedora Core (6, now) is my favorite distribution of Linux, currently, but I have found a lot to like in Ubuntu as well. I’m particularly enamored with the Ubuntu Live CDs (especially the 6.10 Edgy Eft as of this writing). The entire Live CD concept is great; when borrowing a machine (as I am with my aunt’s currently) it lets me avoid Windows without restructuring the hard drive. Of course, there are limitations to doing it this way, and for the most part this concerns installing optional and temporary components in my case. At any rate, I don’t hate Windows (I still like it, in fact) but I love Linux (it’s like popping that red pill in Matrix; you can’t mentally prepare yourself beforehand for the enlightenment that follows, but if you’re thinking correctly, you’ll never want to return to your old perspective of reality—reality will be a lot cooler in many ways, though admittedly more difficult). Linux is like candy for the brain. It should have a warning sticker on it somewhere: use of this product can be addictive.

