Disappointed in the NIV


Reposted from byroniac.blogspot.com:

Just a quick note. I just finished reading a skeptical (and excellent, in my personal opinion) book, “Why I Believed: Reflections of a Former Missionary” by Kenneth Daniels (//link) (sorry, I do not have a page number because I read the Kindle edition and do not know how to determine it). I was alarmed to find that the NIV, which I like, apparently translates Ezekiel 20:25 (//link) incorrectly, compared to the KJV, NASB, and others. The new 2010 NIV has this verse correctly translated, apparently (//link), and I would very much like to get this version in leather-bound. I am disappointed with the 1984 NIV somewhat over this issue, so I will probably focus my efforts on the NASB or ESV, which I prefer over the KJV personally. I’m still happy that the NIV is more popular than the KJV, because even though it’s a good translation, I hate reading in it and from it. Seriously, people, it’s time to move on.

Link #1 to source: http://www.kwdaniels.com/wib/WhyIBelieved.htm#The%20unity%20of%20the%20Bible
Link #2 to source: http://books.google.com/books?id=-Ww3fYhIZ_YC&q=ezekiel+20%3A25#v=snippet&q=ezekiel%2020%3A25&f=false

