Genesis 2:19 in the NIV


[This post is from byroniac.blogspot.com which is the primary blog.]
_
I ran across another problem in the NIV (1984) recently, at Genesis 2:19, which reads, “Now the LORD God had formed out of the ground all the beasts of the field and all the birds of the air. He brought them to the man to see what he would name them; and whatever the man called each living creature, that was its name.” (//link). The NIV (2010) reads very similarly, “Now the LORD God had formed out of the ground all the wild animals and all the birds in the sky. He brought them to the man to see what he would name them; and whatever the man called each living creature, that was its name.” (//link). The words that I emphasized in blue are past perfect in English, but I read that the original Hebrew is simply past tense (//link). I am disappointed, though in general I love the translations. I feel that this is an interpretation more than a translation, to prevent the general context from suggesting that Adam was created before the animals. These are great translations, but I think I like the NASB, ESV, and NKJV better.
2 thoughts on “Genesis 2:19 in the NIV

  1. My main blog is actually on byroniac.blogspot.com where the emphasis is in blue like it should be. I try to mirror post over here, but sometimes I forget. Anyways, I allow commenting in both places but I prefer Google’s blogger just because I am more used to that over there.

    Like

Comments are closed.